Get the daily newsletter!

Dancing with the Fredericksburg Stars Returns October 11

By Susan Larson

The second annual Dancing with the Fredericksburg Stars  will be held at 7 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 11, at Dodd Auditorium on the University of Mary Washington (UMW) campus.

The benefit, modeled after the ABC television series Dancing with the Stars, will pair 10 regional community leaders with professional dancers from Strictly Ballroom Dance Studio in Fredericksburg to compete for the People’s Choice Award and the top prize, the Mirror Ball Trophy.

A panel of judges will offer commentary following each dance.  Proceeds from the performance will be used to endow the UMW Performing Arts in the Community Scholarship for regional students who excel in music, theatre or dance.  Last year’s inaugural event grossed nearly $65,000.

Tickets, available online, are $90, of which $75 is tax deductible.  Seats are selected and reserved at the time of purchase.

This year’s performers include:

Theresa Crawley, a local dentist and member of the UMW Board of Visitors
Lisa Crittenden, executive director of Loisann’s Hope House
Janel Donohue, president of Rappahannock United Way
Debby Girvan, president of Flair Communication
John Fick president and CEO of J.F. Fick Inc.
Regis Keddie II, senior vice president of investments at Davenport and Co.
John Moss Jr., attorney with Rinehart, Butler, Hodge, Moss & Bryant, PLC
Florence Ridderhof, a community volunteer and patron of the arts
John Wack, president of Eastern Sports Management and owner of the Fredericksburg Field House
Joe Wilson, owner of Perma Treat Pest Control and a member of the UMW Board of Visitors

Hall of Famer and former Washington Redskin Darrell Green will emcee the event.  This year’s judges include:

Rosendo Fumero, a professional ballroom dancer and a former U.S. champion in the American Style Smooth open division
Susan Spears, president of the Fredericksburg Regional Chamber of Commerce
Melanie Kay-Wyant, principal at Walker Grant Middle School

Both Spears and Kay-Wyant competed in last year’s event.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This