Fredericksburg National Cemetery to Remain Open During Main Entrance Repairs
The main entrance to the cemetery will be closed during the repair work. Visitors can access the cemetery using the north side entrance at Willis Hill, reachable from the Sunken Road Walking Trail (see attached trail map). Staff at the Fredericksburg Battlefield Visitor Center, 1013 Lafayette Blvd., can provide directions.
Work will include the removal and replacement of the concrete driveway and curbs, and the replacement of broken steps at the cemetery’s main entrance, and at the adjacent historic National Cemetery Lodge.
The work will require 10 to 14 days, depending on weather. No work will be done on weekends.
The Fredericksburg National Cemetery is celebrating its sesquicentennial in 2016. It is the burial site of more than 15,000 Union soldiers, fewer than 20 percent of them identified. The cemetery has been closed to new burials for several decades.
Thousands Visit Fredericksburg National Cemetery for Annual Memorial Day Luminary
110 Townhouses Proposed Across from Fredericksburg National Cemetery