Get the daily newsletter!

Virginia law prohibiting the sale of nicotine products to persons under 21 begins July 1

From Virginia ABC

Beginning July 1, Virginia retailers will be prohibited from selling nicotine products to individuals under 21. The new law
allows active duty military aged 18 or older with a valid military ID to purchase nicotine products.
“It’s important for nicotine product retailers to be aware of this new law and post the appropriate signage by
July 1,” said Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (ABC) Chief Executive Officer Travis Hill. “As the
commonwealth authority responsible for enforcement of laws pertaining to alcohol and nicotine products,
Virginia ABC offers free training to help alcohol and nicotine product retailers to better understand this new
law, as well as other ABC rules and regulations.”

In preparation for the July 1 effective date, retailers should remove any signs related to nicotine product usage
at 18 years old and replace them with this downloadable sign, which reflects the new law. Additionally, ABC
licensees will receive a postcard this month that can be displayed in their stores to inform customers about
the new law.

Retailers will receive new “Do Not Sell” stickers to indicate customers must be at least 21 years
of age to purchase nicotine products, with the exception of active duty military aged 18 or older.
For more information about ABC’s free licensee training or materials, visit
https://www.abc.virginia.gov/licenses/training.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This