Get the daily newsletter!

NoVA not joining rest of state in moving to Phase 1 on Friday

Northern Virginia will not join the rest of the state this Friday in entering Phase 1. The governor’s office says much of Northern Virginia will delay the easing of public-health restrictions for two weeks.

In a statement, Governor Northam’s office said Executive Order 62 will let Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun and Prince William counties; the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas and Manassas Park; and the towns of Dumfries, Herndon, Leesburg and Vienna to remain in what’s called Phase Zero until one minute before midnight on the night of Thursday, May 28. Over the weekend, those localities asked the governor to exclude them from Phase 1 while their case numbers remained high.

The rest of Virginia will enter the new phase on Friday.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This